Roaby, leading the technical revolution of bridge expansion joint worldwide! Its RB unit finger expansion joint with multi-directional displacement capability (RB finger joint) is a breakthrough product which reaches a high level of expansion joint technology, solving the technical difficulties of expansion joint in large-scale and long-span bridges.

 

III.Advantages of RB Finger Joint


1. Horizontal rotation performance

RB finger joint
RB finger joint is assembled from one meter long modular components at every one meter perpendicular to the traffic direction. When the superstructure undergoes horizontal rotation or twisting under wind or vehicle loads, RB finger joint will distribute the horizontal rotation or twisting angle into transverse units. The horizontal rotation and twisting capacities of RB finger joint can be customized according to the design demands.

 


 

Modular joint

Because of the lamella beam in modular joint is spanning along the bridge width, when bridge superstructure has a horizontal rotation and twisting under some severe load cases, it will endure some plastic deformation under fan shape displacement and squeezing conditions. The following picture was taken at Jiangyin Yangtze River Bridge (Jiangsu Province) on May 27, 2005 shows that the girder end maximum displacement is 417mm under the 0.01 radians horizontal girder rotation and the gap was opened up to 470 mm causing traffic closure (test report issued by the Jiangsu Provincial Traffic Science Research Institute and Hong Kong Polytechnic University).

 

 


 

2.Vertical rotation performance

RB finger joint
The response of the RB finger joint to the bridge deck rotation due to the live load on the bridge is one of the best features of this product. The pivot and the hinge bearing allow the attached plate and fingers to rotate and keep the sliding fingers to be in contact with the stainless steel support at the other end. This feature reduces the noise generated by the vehicles running over the joint and eliminates clanking and bumping caused by fingers spring up from their supports. The rotation capacity can be customized according to the design requirements.

 


Vertical rotation theory

 

Cantilever finger joint
The cantilevered finger plates may be lifted above the roadway surface when the girder supporting the cantilevered plate undergoes some vertical rotations due to live load. Under this scenario, the projecting finger plates and the anchors may be prone to fatigue damage under impact from the over-rolling traffic load.

 

Modular joint
The friction resistance between the sliding bearing underneath the lamella beam and supporting girder can increase significantly when the girder ends rotate. This may cause the supporting bearing fall-out and the lamella beam to deform. The vehicular traffic will "jump" over it, and the increased impact load on adjacent lamella beam may lead to more fatigue damage to the joint.

 


  


 

3.Seismic performance (optional per client's request)

 

RB finger joint

RB finger joint provides a relatively flexible connection between main bridge structure and approaches.

 

Under medium earthquake, the structural response of the joint is maintained and force transfer function is also preserved.

 

Under severe earthquake load, the expansion joint will aid the response of the bridge superstructure in the longitudinal direction, as follows:

(1) When the fingers are closed, the joint will work as a restrainer. (2) When the fingers move past the allowable limits, the studs on the fixed plate will shear off, and the rubber block in between the gap will work as a damper and stopper.

 

 

RB finger joint

Because the modular joint is embedded deeper between girder ends:
(1) Under medium earthquake, the steel beams squeeze each other, and then the structure responses and force transfer paths are affected;
(2) Under severe earthquake the joint acts as a direct rigid contact with bridge and approach structure and can cause more damage to the girders.

 



4.Structural performance

RB finger joint

RB finger joint consists of multi-directional displacement hinge, sliding finger plate, fixed finger plate, support bracket, anchorage, and drainage system. The multi-directional displacement hinge is the key component of RB finger joint, with capacity to accommodate the bridge three-dimensional deformation demands.

 

The fixed finger and the sliding finger plate components are located at the two opposite sides of the expansion gap. As the bridge deck expands and contracts, the fingers of the sliding part slide longitudinally between the fingers of the fixed part. The steel fingers which span the expansion gap act as a simply supported beam. The sliding finger plate assembly is connected with the multi-directional displacement hinge at one side of the joint and individual fingers spanning the gap always remain in permanent contact with the support on the opposing side of the joint provided by a stainless steel sliding surface and a rubber shock absorber. The flexible and shock-absorbing design of the system helps to reduce the effects of vehicular loading impacts and thus improve the performance of the expansion joint.

 

RB finger joint is assembled from unit segment perpendicular to the traffic direction. A typical unit segment is one meter long. The short length of the unit segment offers the advantage of quick replacement of sections in individual lines if required (possible in a single night shift) without closure of other lanes of traffic. The maintenance and life cycle costs are significantly reduced when compared to the type of modular joint.

 

 

Modular joint

The lamella beams of modular joint are installed transversely along the whole bridge width. The gap between lamella beams are fitted with an elastomeric extrusion which does not carry the vehicular traffic. A mis-allignment of the lamella beams can cause severe impact from vehicular traffic. The type of joint is more prone to fatigue damage. The supporting beams under lamella beams are arranged along the bridge in about 1.5 meter interval. If the lamella beam is broken, a large opening in the bridge deck can be created and may cause serious traffic accident.

 


 

5.Performance of non-slip surface, drainage and damage control

RB finger joint
RB finger joint has excellent anti-skid performance. The fingers are closely spaced at 5-9 cm, which gives the joint surface good gripping characteristics. The top surface can be machined into specific patterns with different groove depths to improve the traction and drainage condition and to reduce traffic noise. The finger spacing or finger sizes can be reduced or a cover plate is provided per customers' needs if there are motorcycle or bicycle lanes on the bridge.

The water-tight drainage channel of RB finger joint is located in the gap between the two sides below the finger plates and covers the full length of the joint. The drainage channel is connected to the bridge surface drainage system at either or both end as governed by the geometry of the joint. The water-tight elastomeric seal is non-reinforced extruded neoprene compound with suitable high strength technical characteristics and good aging resistance.

In addition to the flexible and shock-absorbing design of the system mentioned above, two other design features also help to control traffic noise and to reduce the fatigue damage from vibration under vehicular load impacts. These include two rubber bearing plates are adopted under the base plate of multi-directional displacement hinge and one canvas rubber pad is also installed under the finger plate.

 

RB单元式伸缩装置结构图,点击放大

 

Modular joint
The rubber seal of modular expansion joint is directly exposed to the weather and vehicular traffic and is more vulnerable to the environmental attacks. The debris is easily accumulated in the gap and the movement is blocked. In addition, large area of water accumulation and icing are other common problems, which may cause serious accidents in rainy and low temperature mountain areas.

 

传统模数式装置抗震结构


 

 

6.Longer life cycle design concept

RB finger joint
RB finger joint has longer life cycle design concept. The joint is assembled from short one meter long unit component across the bridge deck. Each unit is relatively independent. There are not special requirements for temperature during installation. The installation gap between finger plates can be adjusted according to installation temperature on site.

The advantage of this feature is to allow easy and quick installation or replacement of sections as required (possible in a single night shift) without closure of other lanes of traffic. The maintenance and life cycle costs are significantly reduced compared to the traditional type of modular joint. (about 1/5 of the traditional modular joint).

 


 

Modular joint
The maintenance cost for modular joint is much higher. The edge beams and lamella beams of modular joint span across the whole bridge width. Once there is a partial damage, the repair involves much larger area of the joint. The traffic management is also adversely affected; often the whole bridge has to be closed for repair, which has huge negative impact on the public.


 

 

7. Smaller girder ends block-out

Smaller girder ends block-out 

RB finger joint

(1) Small girder ends gap.
The girder end gap is significantly reduced. Generally speaking, the girder end gap could be the movement capacity.
(2) Low installation depth
The cut-in depth is usually about 20cm. For 1000 mm movement demand, the installation depth is no more than 35 cm (ultra-thin design is possible per request for special structure). The smaller block out eases construction difficulty and enhances bridge safety.

 

Modular joint

(1) The girder end gap is normally 2 times of the movement demand.
(2) Deep installation depth requirement.
The installation depth for modular joint is usually over 35 cm. For joint with 1000 mm movement capacity, installation depth is about 60cm. It creates difficulties for both the design and construction, hence increase in the costs.

路宝是当今全球桥梁伸缩装置技术革新的领跑者,其单元式多向变位梳形板桥梁伸缩装置突破了传统模数式伸缩装置的局限,将伸缩装置的技术引领到一个新的高度,解决了特大型桥梁及悬索桥、曲线桥等的伸缩装置的技术瓶颈,为桥梁的长大化、科技化提供了技术支持。

 

三. RB单元式多向变位梳形板桥梁伸缩装置优越性能及与其他类型装置的差异

1. 水平转角性能

RB单元式伸缩装置
RB单元式多向变位梳形板桥梁伸缩装置顺桥宽方向每米一组,自成模块,化整为零。当梁体在风力、车载等作用下梁端产生水平转角和扭转变位时,装置的变位机构会随桥梁转动,整个桥梁的水平转角与扭转变位均匀地分配到若干个单元模块中,无限度地满足桥梁变位需要。

 

模数式伸缩装置
模数式伸缩装置是横桥向通长排列,当梁体在风力作用下梁端产生水平转角和扭转变位时,中梁钢在扇形变位及挤压状态下发生塑性形变。下图照片是2005年5月27日摄于江苏江阴长江大桥现场,据大桥管理局提供的由江苏省交通科学研究院及香港理工大学出具的检测报告显示,当时的梁端最大的位移量就达到417mm,水平转角还不足0.01弧度,而装置两端已被拉开有47cm的塑性形变无法通行车辆。

 

传统模数式装置损坏图

RB单元式伸缩装置水平转动变位原理

 


2. 竖向转角性能

RB单元式伸缩装置
当梁端发生竖向转角或在车轮碾压和高频振捣的情况下,RB单元式多向变位梳形板桥梁伸缩装置以转轴为中心,通过多向变位铰的支承座与转轴之间产生整体转动,转换受力结构克服装置自身挠度变化所产生的拉拔性破坏,满足桥梁竖向转角要求,使装置紧贴梁端,变化自如。


RB单元式伸缩装置竖向转角结构图

 

传统梳齿板装置
当梁端发生竖向转角时,伸缩装置梳齿板会随梁端翘起,车辆碾压后产生梳齿断裂,锚固拉脱等现象;在车轮碾压和高频振捣情况下,梳齿板自身产生挠变,锚固件被拉拔后损坏。

模数式伸缩装置
当梁端发生竖向转角时,模数式伸缩装置中梁与横梁之间产生夹角,滑动支座与支承梁之间的运动阻力剧增,装置滑移受阻,支座断落,连接件断裂。同时,支座的脱落导致中梁下陷,装置表面凹凸不平,汽车通过时跳车严重,冲击荷载剧增,导致梁钢断损上翘,事故频发。


 


 

3. 抗震性能(根据客户需求选用)

RB单元式伸缩装置
由于RB单元式多向变位梳形板桥梁伸缩装置的槽口安装深度浅,当地震发生时:
(1) 中等地震作用下,不影响结构的响应和传力路径;
(2) 在大地震作用下,桥梁上部结构顺桥向发生位移:
a、当浅埋在梁体上面的跨缝板与固定板抵触时,装置起到限位作用;
b、当装置完成常规位移,固定板螺栓被剪断时,防落胶块隔置在两梁之间,起到消能、减震、限位的作用,从而防止和缓解落梁灾难发生。

该性能根据客户需要选用。

RB单元式伸缩装置抗震结构

RB单元式伸缩装置抗震结构

 

模数式伸缩装置
由于模数式伸缩装置是深埋在两个梁体之间,因此:
(1) 当中等地震作用下,钢梁相互挤压,影响结构的响应和传力路径;
(2) 在大地震作用下,装置直接与桥梁板成刚性碰撞从而加重桥梁灾难 (如图)。

传统模数式装置抗震结构

模数式伸缩装置抗震结构


 

4. 结构性能

RB单元式伸缩装置
装置各种组件功能独立、明确,有利于设计、制造、检测、安装、更换、监测等各个环节的质量控制。装置与梁体柔性连接,荷载冲击力通过胶板和支座吸收及传递,大大弱化了梁体振动、变形对伸缩装置的破坏作用,抗疲劳能力明显优于模数式结构。

装置采用简支结构,梳形板整体跨过梁端缝隙,结构受力合理,经久耐用。伸缩装置的伸缩梳形齿相互穿插布列,每个梳齿仅为5-8cm宽,位移时始终交叉不脱离。车轮通过时没有过渡冲击间隙,行车平顺,舒适性良好。


RB单元式伸缩装置结构图

 

模数式伸缩装置
模数式伸缩装置的上表层边、中梁钢是横桥向通长排列,梁钢之间有不可避免的伸缩间隙。车轮通过时冲击力巨大,钢梁易断裂(见下图)。装置下部的支撑横梁顺桥向1-1.2米间隔排列,由这些横梁支撑着中梁钢,当中梁钢断裂后,极易造成端部起翘,导致重大交通事故。

传统模数式装置抗震结构

模数式装置损坏图


 

5. 防滑防水防病害性能

RB单元式伸缩装置
RB单元式伸缩装置具有出色的防滑性能。纵向结构上,每个梳齿5-8cm的排列密度保证每个轮胎有充分摩擦阻力,横向防滑则根据应用环境和用户对防滑的要求对防滑槽的密度和深度进行个性化的加工,从而确保满足装置的防滑要求。

装置没有弹簧或弹性伸缩构造,也没有模数缝隙概念,因此不存在伸缩受阻或中梁间隙不均衡等问题。装置的跨缝版整体覆盖在梁端缝隙上,减震胶板不直接受压,伸缩装置与不锈钢滑板紧贴无间,不会被杂质侵入,梳齿间的垃圾被坡形梳齿强行推出,并被行车带走,不会进入梁端缝隙。雨水经桥面泄水孔排泄后通过装置底面渗入导水构造疏流,防水性能极佳,并不易老化、破损。

RB单元式伸缩装置结构图,点击放大

RB单元式伸缩装置

 

模数式伸缩装置
模数式伸缩装置的伸缩橡胶止水带嵌置于两侧异性钢槽内,直接暴露在外,外露的橡胶止水条不能适应恶劣环境的侵害,缝内垃圾积压,伸缩受阻,容易产生大面积的积水结冰现象,在多雨低温的山区有严重的交通安全隐患。

传统模数式装置抗震结构

模数式伸缩装置损坏图


 

6. 全寿命周期设计理念,安装、更换方便,运行成本低

RB单元式伸缩装置
RB单元式多向变位梳形板桥梁伸缩装置工作部件具有全寿命设计概念,每一单元是相对独立的,并且结构简单功能明确,能够有效化解各种不利因素,使用寿命长。安装时对温度没有特殊的要求,梳齿板之间安装间隙可根据现场安装温度随时调整。

单元组合,维修时只对损坏的模块单独拆装更换,按模数式伸缩装置同价同寿命计算,运营成本仅为模数式的1/5。当装置需要维修时,只要求横桥向有一个车道宽度的作业面,可以在不中断交通的情况下进行单元局部更换,经济和社会效益均十分显著。

RB单元式伸缩装置结构图,点击放大

RB单元式伸缩装置                                             模数式伸缩装置 

 

模数式伸缩装置
相对而言,模数式伸缩装置的维修更换成本要高得多了。模数式伸缩装置的边、中梁钢横桥向通长(整幅桥宽度)排列与支撑横梁组成一个整体的“庞然大物”,一旦出现局部损坏,在车载振动冲击作用下很快“感染”整体。而且这种装置无法局部更换,一旦损坏,必须更换整个装置。而另一方面,其维修更换时需全幅封闭中断交通,尤其对于车流量较大的道路,将使本已拥挤不堪的交通状况雪上加霜。


 

7. 梁端间隙及安装深度

RB单元式伸缩装置结构图,点击放大 

RB单元式伸缩装置
(1)两梁间的梁端间距大大缩小
RB单元式多向变位梳形板桥梁伸缩装置,由跨缝板代替了模数式伸缩装置的中梁和支撑梁,直接跨过梁端缝隙至另一侧梁体,致使两联间的梁端间距大大缩小。一般地,梁端间隙就等于伸缩量。

(2)安装深度要求低
一般大于20cm就可以安装,1000mm伸缩量的安装深度不超过35cm(特殊结构可超薄设计)。降低桥梁造价与结构难度,提高桥梁安全性。

 

模数式伸缩装置
(1)两联间的梁端间距一般为伸缩量的2倍

如160mm位移量以上的异型钢伸缩装置由多道中梁钢组成,每道中梁钢均支撑在横梁上,即使都收缩在一起(每道中梁紧挨着),也有一定的宽度,势必会增加梁端间距的宽度。大型装置梁端预留间距多为伸缩量的2倍以上。

(2)安装深度要求较深
预留槽安装深度大。一般160mm伸缩量装置的安装深度在35cm以上;1000mm伸缩量装置的安装深度要60cm左右,设计施工时就需要采取加大过渡墩等方法保证桥梁结构的强度,从而增加桥梁的造价和施工难度。


                                 快速导航

  一.桥梁伸缩装置发展史
  二.多向变位伸缩装置类别
  三.多向变位伸缩装置优势
       1.水平转角性能
       2.竖向转角性能
       3.抗震性能
       4.结构性能
       5.防滑防水防病害性能
       6.全寿命周期设计理念
       7.梁端间隙及安装深度
  四. 多向变位伸缩装置检测
  五. 多向变位伸缩装置荣誉


                      上一页 | 下一页